Kent Withycombe joined the Committee in January 2012 from Dickstein Shapiro LLP, where he was a partner and had practiced as an insurance litigator on behalf of policyholders for more than 15 years. Prior to Dickstein Shapiro, Mr. Withycombe was a shareholder member for eight years in the law firm of Anderson Kill Olick & Oshinsky, P.C., where he also litigated insurance matters on behalf of policyholders in addition to other matters involving securities and construction disputes.

For the last ten years of his tenure at Dickstein, Mr. Withycombe was very active in the firm’s partnership with the Duke Ellington High School for the Arts. He also worked closely with Georgetown University Law Center’s year-long Street Law courses that are taught in the DC Public Schools, and which involves a District-wide mock trial tournament each Spring. Among other responsibilities at the Committee, Kent will be focusing special attention on the recruitment of new school partners, particularly for high schools, and outreach aimed at creating new partnerships for schools among law firms, firm clients, the DC business community, litigation support companies and associations. He will be working closely with Elinor Hart, the Committee’s long-time Partnership Program Coordinator, Jonathan Smith, the Executive Director, and other Committee staff who assist with this Program.


  • JD New York University School of Law
  • BA Columbia University

Bar Admissions

  • District of Columbia
  • New York

Pro Bono and Community Service

  • Georgetown University Law Center Street Law Clinic: Street Law mentor; advisor regarding GULC and Street Law Diversity Pipeline Project.
  • Duke Ellington School of the Arts: developed Street Law program, co-founded Roundtable program.
  • Bread for the City: working with Scouts in the DC area to expand Glean for the City operations at participating farms.
  • Komen Global Race for the Cure: Team Captain for fundraising race team since 2008.
  • Arlington County Youth Basketball: Advisory Council member since 2005; have been coaching teams since 2000.

Related Content