Frontpage Slideshow | Copyright © 2006-2014 JoomlaWorks Ltd.

Latest News

Committee’s 2016 Branton Awards Luncheon Honors Departing Executive Director Rod Boggs, Welcomes Successor Jonathan Smith

The Committee celebrated its 2016 Wiley A. Branton Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, June 22, 12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m., at the JW Marriott Hotel.

Outgoing Washington Lawyers' Committee Executive Director Rod Boggs, who is stepping down after 45 years of service, received the 2016 Wiley A. Branton Award. This award is presented annually to members of the legal community whose lifetime efforts on behalf of civil rights advocacy mirror the deep commitment to equal justice exemplified by legendary civil rights attorney Wiley A. Branton, Sr. The Committee also introduced its incoming Executive Director Jonathan Smith at the Luncheon.

The Legal Aid Justice Center (Charlottesville, Virginia office), with which the Washington Lawyers' Committee worked successfully to obtain improved health care for inmates at the Fluvanna Women's Prison, received the Committee's 2016 Alfred McKenzie Award. This award was named for the former Tuskegee Airman and lead plaintiff in a successful class action brought by the Committee challenging racial discrimination. The award recognizes Committee clients whose dedication and courage produced civil rights victories of particular significance.

The international consulting and accounting firm BDO USA, LLP; commercial real estate services firm Savills Studley; and the law firm of Zuckerman Spaeder LLP jointly received the Committee's 2016 Vincent E. Reed Award for helping to establish the Committee's parent engagement and academic enrichment program for students in Title 1 DC public schools. This award is given in the name of distinguished educator Dr. Vincent Reed, who encouraged and supported the Committee's decision to establish its public education support programs.

In addition, a number of area law firms were honored for their outstanding work with the Washington Lawyers' Committee over the past year.

The annual Branton Awards Luncheon is the Washington Lawyers' Committee's primary event recognizing the outstanding achievements of individuals, clients and organizations that have worked closely with the Committee over many years. Approximately 900 people, including government officials and representatives from law firms, businesses, foundations, and other non-profits attended this event.

2016 Outstanding Achievement Awards to Cooperating Law Firms


Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP

Debevoise & Plimpton LLP

Heller, Huron, Chertkof & Salzman, PLLC

Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Latham & Watkins LLP

Relman, Dane & Colfax PLLC

Williams & Connolly LLP


Arnold & Porter LLP

Axinn Veltrop & Harkrider LLP

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP

Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP

Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll PLLC

Blank Rome LLP

Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP


Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP

Covington & Burling LLP

Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

Beveridge & Diamond, P.C.

BuckleySandler LLP

Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP


Copyright © 2008-2018 Washington Lawyers' Committee